3 Replies Latest reply: Jun 6, 2018 3:07 PM by Romain Jourdan RSS

Query on SDNWAN with WAN-Opt

Hemant Krishnan

I am a newbie in understanding the various Riverbed product line. So apologies for possibly a very naive question.

1. From what I read, looks for centralized mgmt. of SteelHead, we may want to get a SteelCentral Controller (SCC) separately as a separate device. And this would still give only traditional WAN-Opt. But for getting new age SDWAN abilities, we need to get SteelConnect Manager (SCM) which would still only manage the various LAN/WLAN/WAN devices (including SteelHead). But SCM by in itself does not aid in providing a WAN-Opt since it is more of a VPN Gateway with a centralized management capability. I hope I have been correct until now.
    1. But in Re: How to integrate SteelHead with SteelConnect? there is a mention that the new series of CX70 is a SteelHead which has the SCM abilities as well (i.e. a single device doing both SDWAN & WAN-Opt).
    2. Additionally there is the SteelHead SD. Would this be able to achieve SDWAN & WAN-Opt? i.e. Would we get an additional centralized SDWAN controller GUI like abilities (similar to SCM) or would only be an upgrade of SteelHead to add some SDWAN capabilities devoid of any other LAN/WLAN devices management capability.
  2. When designing a WAN-Opt with SDWAN solution (with or without both requirements out of a single appliance) what all devices should we consider (leaving out the LAN/WLAN infra of course). I understand this may need a slightly longer response. So not looking for a detailed one but at least towards the Riverbed technologies is good enough for me to get a hint.

Thanks anyone who could guide me.

• Re: Query on SDNWAN with WAN-Opt
    Alan Mattson

It is a bit confusing, but here is how I understand it. We currently have SteelConnect on SteelConnect Appliances, but we did look into the converged platform.