2 Replies Latest reply: May 22, 2015 12:03 AM by David Butler RSS

Granite Edge and allocating space on a SteelHead EX data store?

David Butler

Hello,

I'm fairly new to Granite (SteelFusion) as I work mostly with network related things and not so much storage and backups.  So I apologize for the newbie questions in advance!

I don't have the license to play with this yet, but based on what I've read in the configuration guide.... when setting up Granite Edge on an EX appliance, you are able to allocate this space on the disk.  My question is this.... is there a best practice in setting this up?  Like some sort of percentage of the disk that needs to be allocated for Granite?

Thanks for the assistance that anyone can give me.  thanks!

• Re: Granite Edge and allocating space on a SteelHead EX data store?
    Tom Tasker

Hi David,

The disk space presented in a SteelHead EX (EX) for the Virtual Services Platform (VSP) and Granite / SteelFusion (SF) cannot be chosen by a user defined percentage, instead you get three options via radio button.

The three options are;

All to VSP.

All to SF.

50% to SF, 50% to VSP. 

Each one of the options has its merits and reasoning, but you mostly find that you select one based on how you plan to you use you EX appliance.  What is important to remember is that changing the disk space layout will destroy all the data currently on it.  You are moving disk partition tables around and no OS can survive that with all the data intact, so it's deleted and starts all over again.  This should really be a one time operation and then left until a design change forces it. 

All to VSP.

=======