5 Replies Latest reply: Jun 20, 2014 9:14 AM by Christopher White RSS

SteelScript TimeFilter use

John Sutch

Hello all, I'm new to both Python and to SteelScript and I'm trying to use SteelScript to create a trace clip on a NetShark. I have created both my NetShark object and my capture job object and I'm now trying to create the clip. According to the documentation I should use the add_clip method, the syntax of which is: add_clip(filters, description, locked=True). The problem I have is that I cannot work out the syntax of the filters parameter. I wish to create a simple filter to create a 10 minute clip from the capture job. I have looked at the TimeFilter documentation too and created a TimeFilter object with a start and end datetime, but probably due to my inexperience with Python I can't seem to get it to work with add_clip. If I use that object as the filter I get an error stating the object is not iterable.

My first question is what should the format of the datetime be in the TimeFilter object?

Secondly, how is that TimeFilter object used in the add_clip filter parameter?

Has anyone already done something similar using the TimeFilter? If so, please would you share your experience with me?

Apologies if I've used any incorrect terminology - it's somewhat of a learning curve for me!

Thanks,     John.

• Re: SteelScript TimeFilter use
    Joe Kraenzle

John,

I've only used TimeFilter in NetProfiler reporting so I may not completely understand what you need to do.  Examples of TimeFilter use are:

timefilter = TimeFilter.parse_range("last 60 m")

report.run (groupby, columns, timefilter=timefilter, trafficexpr=trafficexpr, resolution=resolution, centricity=centricity

It can also be set by passing arguments to a Python script.

group.add_option('--timefilter', dest='timefilter', default='last 1 hour',  help='Time range to analyze (defaults to "last 1 hour") other valid formats are: "4/21/13 4:00 to 4/21/13 5:00" or "16:00:00 to 21:00:04.546"'